Which is considered to be the national symbol of Singapore?

What are the 3 national symbols of Singapore?

The first three National Symbols – the National Flag, State Crest (National Coat of Arms) and National Anthem – were unveiled during the installation of Encik Yusof bin Ishak as the first Malayan-born Yang di-Pertuan Negara (Head of State) on 3 December 1959 at the City Hall Chambers.

What do the symbols on the Singapore flag represent?

Meaning. The National Flag consists of two equal horizontal sections, red above white. … White symbolises pervading and everlasting purity and virtue. The crescent moon represents a young nation on the ascendant, and the five stars depict Singapore’s ideals of democracy, peace, progress, justice and equality.

What are the 6 national symbols?

National symbols are marks, signs and objects for which the country is known/recognized. Examples of these natural symbols are the constitution, map pledge, Anthem, flag, coat of arms, currency and passports.

What are the three national symbols?

Common official national symbols

  • The flag or banner of a nation-state.
  • The coat of arms of the land or ruling dynasty.
  • The seal or stamp of the land or ruling dynasty.
  • The head of state, especially in a monarchy.
  • The associated device and motto can also be used separately.
  • The national colors, often derived from the above.
THIS IS INTERESTING:  How did Chinese influence Filipino food?

What are Singapore icons?


  • Changi Airport Control Tower. Due to its unique structure, the Control Tower, which started operations in 1981, has since been widely recognized as one of Singapore’s icons.
  • Chilli Crab. …
  • Marina Bay Sands. …
  • Merlion. …
  • Orchid. …
  • $1 Coin.

What is the national symbol of St Kitts and Nevis?

The national bird of St. Kitts and Nevis is the brown pelican, whose scientific name is the Pelecanus Occidentalis. In its youth, the brown pelican is brown on the head, neck and upper parts of the body, and mostly white below.

Is the national emblem of Australia?

The coat of arms of Australia, officially called the Commonwealth Coat of Arms, is the formal symbol of the Commonwealth of Australia. A shield, depicting symbols of Australia’s six states, is held up by the native Australian animals, the kangaroo and the emu.

Coat of arms of Australia.

Coat of arms of Australia 1908–1912
Motto Advance Australia