Which division is largest in Myanmar?

What is the largest division in Myanmar?

Yangon Region is the most densely populated and Mandalay Region has the largest population. The smallest population is Kayah State. In terms of land area, Shan State is the largest and Yangon Region is the smallest. States and Regions are divided into districts (kha yai).

How is Myanmar divided?

Myanmar States and Regions. Note: Since 20 Aug 2010, Myanmar is divided into 7 Dyinè (States), 7 Taing (Regions) and the Naypyidaw Union Territory. The Regions and States are headed by a chief minister who is appointed by the President from among the regional and state legislature representatives.

What are the seven divisions in Myanmar?

Myanmar is divided administratively into seven states largely on the basis of ethnicity—Chin, Kachin, Kayin (Karen), Kayah, Mon, Rakhine (Arakan), and Shan—and seven more truly administrative divisions of Myanmar proper—Ayeyarwady (Irrawaddy), Magway (Magwe), Mandalay, Bago (Pegu), Sagaing, Taninthary (Tenasserim), and

What is the capital of Myanmar?

Which province is Yangon in?

A large part of the province is occupied by the capital city of the country, the city of Yangon, which can be found in the central part of the province and is one of the largest municipal areas of the whole region.

Yangon Province, Burma Lat Long Coordinates Info.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: How many religions are in Indonesia?
Country Myanmar (Burma)
Country Code MM
Zoom Level 8

How many cities are there in Myanmar?

In total, there are 47 cities in Myanmar. The largest city is Rangoon with a population of 7 360 703.

What is the old name of Myanmar?

The choice of names stems from the existence of two different names for the country in Burmese, which are used in different contexts. The official English name was changed by the country’s government from the “Union of Burma” to the “Union of Myanmar” in 1989, and still later to the “Republic of the Union of Myanmar”.