What are the 10 major fault lines in the Philippines?

What are the main fault lines?

List of fault zones

Fault Name Length [km] Time of movement
Alaska-Aleutian Megathrust 3600 Active
Alpine Fault 1400 Active
Altyn Tagh Fault 1200 Active
Amfilochia Fault 60 Active

What are the 5 most active fault in the Philippines?

There are five active fault lines in the country namely the Western Philippine Fault, the Eastern Philippine Fault, the South of Mindanao Fault, Central Philippine Fault and the Marikina/Valley Fault System.

What are the 4 types of faults?

There are four types of faulting — normal, reverse, strike-slip, and oblique. A normal fault is one in which the rocks above the fault plane, or hanging wall, move down relative to the rocks below the fault plane, or footwall. A reverse fault is one in which the hanging wall moves up relative to the footwall.

What are the 3 main types of faults?

There are three main types of fault which can cause earthquakes: normal, reverse (thrust) and strike-slip. Figure 1 shows the types of faults that can cause earthquakes. Figures 2 and 3 show the location of large earthquakes over the past few decades.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Your question: Is civil marriage legal in Indonesia?