Question: Where is the secretariat of Asean?


Why is ASEAN Secretariat in Jakarta?

The ASEAN Secretariat (ASEC) was set up in February 1976 by the Foreign Ministers of ASEAN. Its basic function is to provide for greater efficiency in the coordination of ASEAN organs and for more effective implementation of ASEAN projects and activities. ASEC is based in Jakarta, Indonesia.

Where is Lim Jock Hoi from?

In which ASEAN member state is the Asean Secretariat located?

ASEAN is headed by a chair—a position that rotates annually among member states—and is assisted by a secretariat based in Jakarta, Indonesia.

What are the ASEAN plus 3 countries?

The ASEAN-Plus Three (APT) consists of 10 ASEAN Member States, China, Japan, and the Republic of Korea (ROK). The economic cooperation between ASEAN and the Plus Three countries started in 1997 and had evolved ever since.

Is India a member of ASEAN?

India became a sectoral dialogue partner of ASEAN in 1992. … India also became a member of the ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF) in 1996. India and ASEAN have been holding summit-level meetings on an annual basis since 2002. In August 2009, India signed a Free Trade Agreement (FTA) with the ASEAN members in Thailand.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: Do Vietnamese love coffee?

How is ASEAN secretary general selected?

The Secretary-General of ASEAN shall be appointed by the ASEAN Summit for a non-renewable term of office of five years, selected from among nationals of the ASEAN Member States based on alphabetical rotation, with due consideration to integrity, capability and professional experience, and gender equality.

Which headquarter is there in Jakarta?

Notes: The headquarters of ASEAN is located at Jakarta in Indonesia. ASEAN is a group of ten Southeast Asian countries which was formed on 8th August 1967. It is an inter-governmental organisation.

Where is the head quarter Ofasean?

The ASEAN Headquarters is located in Jakarta, Indonesia.

Which countries is the Organisation of ASEAN?


show Association of Southeast Asian Nations
Membership Brunei Cambodia Indonesia Laos Malaysia Myanmar Philippines Singapore Thailand Vietnam
• Secretary General Lim Jock Hoi